Pep-ing it up

By Dre’Quan Gibson

Commentary

GibbyGaringer High School is having the first ever pep squad for the 2013-2014 basketball season. Coach Dixon and Coach Coley are the masters behind the whole thing. They plan on having a student section that’s only allowed for students that currently attend Garinger. These students will have to be rowdy and very school spirited; the section will be known as “The Cat Cage.”
Big changes are being made at Garinger,  such as the amazing new gym that was just remodeled, and the pep squad is a great tag-along. In my opinion, this is a good look for the school, a very good way to look past our bad reputation. Every school year comes with a fresh start and this is definitely a fresh one. I believe this is a very swell idea because this supports our basketball team to play their hearts out every game. It will encourage more students and teachers to come out and support our Wildcats, as well as make sure that visitors know that they have just left Garinger and that our students are die-hard fans.

Some people may say that a pep squad is not a good idea because it could cause chaos at the games.  The idea that some students may possibly get in a dispute with another school is not necessarily true because students are expected to be mature and handle themselves appropriately.
So, every Garinger high school student should come to at least one high school and scream their lungs out for the team!

Wildcat named Player of the Year

By Jaden Jones

IMG_0413
Garinger student Tresor Mbuyu was named the Charlotte Observer’s Player of the Year in men’s soccer. – Photo by Jaden Jones

From birth he was destined for greatness, one would say.

Charlotte Observer player of the year, Tresor Mbuyu, an all-state junior from Garinger High School, has achieved greatness all his life.

The future seems bright for the gifted young forward from Congo.
Moving from Congo at a young age of 13, Tresor had begun his interest in the sport of soccer. Tresor’s opportunity to play for the Garinger Wildcats has earned him the respect of his teammates and coach. When asked how he feels to have this amazing honor, Tresor simply replied, “I am thankful for having great players and this was the most amazing season I have ever had in my life.”

Tresor’s respect for  his teammates, peers, and his coach is enormous. “They’re proud of me and they were excited to win the conference but we didn’t win it all,” Tresor said.
Tresor was also asked about the other awards he has achieved over the years and how they compare to this award, and he simply answered, “It’s kind of the same, but this is my first time winning Player of the Year.”
Another question was asked about the support of Tresor’s friends, teammates, coaches, and family. He replied, “My coaches train me and I also train myself. My friends and family also help me train.” His motto is “I learn about life with a soccer ball at my feet.”
Tresor’s father also impacts him on and off the field.

“My dad helps me with training and he also helps me with staying in school,” he said.

With the awareness of his future approaching, Tresor has not yet made a choice of the college he would like to attend.  “I want to play for college and go play for the pros.”
Tresor was asked of his final thoughts over young his career. He replied, “Without God I would not be where I am now.”