Wildcat baseball struggles to score

Ma'Lik Berginer stands in front of Garinger's baseball field. Photo by Demetri Johnson.

By Ma’Lik Berginer
Baseball has been a struggle at Garinger High School.
For the past four years we have won a total of 14 baseball games. Year after year it has been loss after loss.
At times, we were led to believe that it was the players who were disobedient and disrespectful. But that wasn’t the case. Since I arrived at Garinger when I was a sophomore, I have realized many things. I witnessed some coaches who didn’t want their players to succeed, some teachers who wouldn’t teach and much more.
The sad part about the start of this season is the fact that we did not get a coach until four days before our first game, and we had a total of three practices.
That is not fair when there are other teams who have been practicing all year to prepare, yet we have three days to get it together.
Coach Lorenzo Graves said he saw “some hard working players who give their all…I hope the best for them.”
Next year, he plans to start training early.
“We will win. Best believe that,” he said.
Yes, the odds have been stacked against students who go to Garinger High School, especially sports wise, but I also have seen athletes make it out of here and become something great.
Take me for example. I’m going to N.C. State as a red-shirted walk-on for the football team. Darius Dobson is going to Wingate University, Kemmi Pettway is going to UNC Chapel Hill and Donquarious Howie is going to UNC Charlotte.
In the future, I think Garinger students will have a better chance at success. Maybe not this year, maybe not next year but in four years it will become a completely different environment here at Garinger High School.
I see the change happening now, so I look forward to seeing what’s next.
I hope it all changes for the best.

Leave a Reply

